You’d  think after 40-some-odd years that I’d have this New Year’s thing down pat. Instead, I’ve noticed it gets progressively more challenging each year. Of course, that could just mean I’m going through a more challenging phase of life (I’ve read this before – the 40’s are the absolute worst! and then your 50’s are great again!). Anyway.

This year, I have many wonderful things to look forward to, which causes me a fair amount of anxiety and fear that I’ll fail or that something will fall through. This is SO UNLIKE ME! I just can’t. And yet I am.

This year, I’m grateful to be participating in Portland State University’s School of Business Administration Capstone Project, SBA 495: Business Strategy. I’ll be working with 10-12 students to create a scope of work, a SWOT analysis, a financial report, and an overall strategy write-up for my business. This is amazing! Here’s hoping I get a great batch of students.

This year, I’m grateful for new friends who share my entrepreneurial drive and excitement. I’m in the process of forming my very first mastermind group. This is exciting – I’ve watched clients lean heavily on their mastermind groups for wisdom and encouragement over the years, and I wish to belong to just such a group. I want to share my experience and knowledge, while benefitting from the learning of others.

This year, I’m grateful for ongoing and new client relationships, even and maybe especially when they present challenges. Growth is good. Learning is good. I remain grateful for my ability to absorb new information, applying it to successful use of various online platforms.

This year, I’m grateful for grit: that stick-to-it-iveness that keeps me going when all I really want to do is curl up in a ball under the covers and hibernate. The struggle is real!

This year, I will phrase things in the positive.

Instead of ‘this is so hard,’ I’ll say, ‘I’m challenged by x, and it will help me grow.’